Mad Church Disease

madchurchdiseaseI don’t read! Don’t get me wrong I love to read but for some reason it’s easier to pick up the remote or the guitar (mostly the remote), than a book. However once the guilt of not being a well balanced individual overcomes me, I will pick up a book and if it’s a good one, I don’t put it down. This particular book is somewhat special to me however. After two years of watching this book unfold I finally got my mitts on it last night. It was such a cool process to get to know the author, read her blog everyday and watch the book come together. Us faithful blog readers even got to vote on what cover would be used for the book. This was a really unique experience. Truth be told this book could not have come at a more perfect time. As a christian who is only 27 and has already experienced 3 church splits and numerous church squabbles, this book has really spoke to my heart. It’s also perfect timing, as I start my journey as a worship leader. It’s filled with stories that take you through a wide range of emotions. One minute you’re laughing, the next you’re yelling at the people in the book like they slapped your momma. There is also a lot of good advice on how to deal with burnout…one of the number one killers of Christians, especially in leadership rolls. This book has already started to heal old wounds and has given me some insight on how to prevent burnout in my first ever leadership roll. This book is fantastic and I can’t wait to read more…

But as the great LeVar Burton always use to say “You don’t have to take my word for it!”

2 Responses to “Mad Church Disease”

  1. i laughed out loud at your yell at the people like they slapped your momma part!! i’m glad that it’s message is touching yoU!!

  2. ARGH! EVERYONE has been able to get their hands on this prerelease and I’m SO JEALOUS! Can’t wait for it!!!! Kudos man.

Leave a Reply

