The Turkey Trot

tt.jpg

So as some of you may know I was training for the 10K (6.2 miles) Turkey Trot that was to be held on Thanksgiving morning before the parade. Well I am happy to say I did it! I was shocked I was able to finish the run without stopping because during my training the most I had ever ran was 4 miles or so. There is one thing that I learned through all of this, that most everything difficult is 90% mental and only 10% psychical. Once I zoned out listening to my headphones it was a piece of cake.

The run route was really cool. We started near Joe Luis Arena and ran a block away from my my Alma Mater and back. It was nice to see the city full of people. The streets were lined with RV’s and people in lawn chairs cheering us on but mostly waiting for the parade to follow. It was really cool. This might have to be a new family tradition. But we’ll see how I feel next year.

4 Responses to “The Turkey Trot”

  1. Two things:

    1. What were your times?

    2. Why are those shirts so hideous?!?!

  2. 1. 1 hour and 12 Minutes
    2. Because they were free.

    Believe it or not they are really soft and comfortable but it will never again see the outside of my house

  3. 1. Times… as in plural
    2. Why do free things have to be so badly designed?

  4. Great work! Congrats on the job well done. Is the full Marathon up next?

Leave a Reply

