Movies Reviewed

moviereviews.jpg

So this weekend was pretty sweet. Despite how busy we were Becca and I got a chance to be lazy and lay around and watch some movies. Here is what I thought.

Hot Fuzz:
I am a huge fan of Shaun Of The Dead. Probably one of my favorite movies. So when I saw that the same people that made Shaun were making a new movie I was more than pleased. I don’t know why it took me this long to see this movie but things happen I suppose. Well I must say this movie was no Shaun. It had it’s potential, what with the quick cuts and sharp editing. For some reason I love it when the main character narrates the intro to the movie. That’s usually a tell tale sign the movie is going to be good. Well this movie made so many different twists and turns I was having a hard time deciding whether or not I liked it. It wasn’t as action packed as I though it was going to be either. There was also a lot of gore that I didn’t anticipate. To be honest I am really on the fence about this one. I think I have to watch it again. So I guess I could safely recommend this since I am willing to give it another shot. I think my expectations really killed most of the fun.

Music and Lyrics.

Not too much to say about this one. I like Hugh Grant and Drew, but I don’t know if I like them sharing the same space. The movie was ok as far as a reality show made for the silver screen goes. I just know that VH1 is going to rip the plot of this movie off. I think the thing that really saved this movie was that it didn’t take itself too seriously. It constantly made fun of itself and how pathetic Grant’s character was and how shallow, talentless, completely ignorant, and arrogant the pop music industry is. Overall it was worth a watch. It moved very quickly and the characters were likable enough but really didn’t have any romantic chemistry.

The Hamiltons

Originally one of the 8 Films To Die For, a film festival that gave independent film makers a chance to get their movies on the big screen. Well I must say I had really really low expectations but it was free on demand so I was like what the heck. Well the movie had an interesting take on the villains. Everything was from this psycho family’s point of view. This movie took a long time to figure out really what was going on. I mean it was obvious they were crazy but you really didn’t know in what way. It has a really slow reveal and can never really be appreciated until it’s over. To be honest the plot and the way it was executed was quite brilliant. If anyone has seen this one I would love to know what you thought. This movie is however pretty graphic in many categories, so be warned.

4 Responses to “Movies Reviewed”

  1. Ahh greatness dude! LOVE Shaun of the Dead! LOVE IT! I too have waited too long to see Hot Fuzz! They have or had a deal at Best Buy where you could get Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz for only 20 bucks but b/c I was buying the special edition 300 Rae said I should wait ๐Ÿ™‚
    AND I’m a huge horror fan. I caught as many of the 8 Films To See…. as I could when they came out and I’ve been trying to get to all of them as they’re being released to DVD. I’ll have to check this one out.

    I however…do NOT enjoy Hugh Grant, but I do love Drew so we’ll leave it at that ๐Ÿ™‚ HAHAHA.

  2. My wife and I were pretty big fans of Music and Lyrics. Or I should say, I was, and my wife pretty much though a lot of the stuff you did.

  3. I agree, my expectations killed Hot Fuzz for me too! I need to watch it again. I guess that it is very easy to rationalize that with Shaun of the Dead being such a perfect movie, how could they possibly top it? In my opinion, The Hamiltons was one of the best of the 8 Films to Die For. If you are looking for good horror, check out Altered, Feast, The Tripper, and Wind Chill. All were pretty cool, and The Tripper was directed by David Arquette!! Jason Mewes is in The Tripper and Feast. Anyway, thought I’d leave my .02ยข.

  4. qko tuka mai nq bg … ama kakto i da e vinagi trq se vpishem nqkade…

Leave a Reply

