Movie Reviews

livefreediehardreview.jpgLive Free Or Die Hard:
So this weekend I had a chance to go and see the new Die hard movie. I didn’t really have any expectation for this one. Most of the time the 3rd installment is usually sub par (not the case however with Die Hard 3) let alone a 4th almost 10 years after the fact. So as I said low expectations but you gotta love Bruce Willis and his character John McClane.

The movie starts out at a sprint. You don’t have to wait but through the opening credits for the bullets to start flying. Very good pacing with the action. John McClane is still in shape and still attempting crazy stunts in order to kill the bad guys. Justin Long is still that goofy MAC kid he always plays but it works out nicely since in this flick he plays a computer hacker being hunted by the bad guys for. John as always, is in the wrong place at the wrong time and has to keep the kid alive. This movie never really slows down. I will say this, the PG-13 rating did cut down on the violence. A lot of bloodless shooting. Also the launguage was toned down a lot from the original Die Hards. I would say this movie is worth a look.

Plot: 4 out of 5. Action: 5 out of 5. Acting: 4 1/2 out of 5. Overall: 4.67 out of 5.

shooter2.jpg Shooter: So to be honest I didn’t have much desire to see this movie. It just seemed really cheesey to me. Maybe it was just the title that made it seem like a straight to video flick. I will say that Mark Wahlberg is good in everything he does so it did have hope. So my buddy had it in the van while we were on the way home from Toronto so we popped it in. The movie was awesome. There were so many good actors in it. Danny Glover was an awesome bad guy. However the plot borrowed from a lot of different movies. It had a Rambo, Bourne Identity, Sniper, Commando feel to it. Marky Mark is again the man in this movie. It gives you another great in site into the job and skill of a super bad sniper, the most feared man in combat. It also shows you how to make a silencer out of a pop bottle. Overall it was a most pleasant surprise. It is very violent and there is some language in it as well, however not as much as most R rated flicks. I would buy this movie at full price without even thinking about it.

Plot: 3.5 out of 5. Action: 5 out of 5. Acting: 4 1/2 out of 5. Overall: 4.89 out of 5.

For some good social commentary on this movie head on over to GKB

4 Responses to “Movie Reviews”

  1. I liked Die Hard…Check out my review at Cold Leftovers.
    As action movies go, it was pretty good, i think. Maybe not the best of the four, but worthy of the name…

    I saw Shooter as well…i had trouble getting into it.. pretty disappointing…

  2. …I watched Ratatouillle last night…did you see it? What is your review?

  3. I, too, enjoyed Live Free or Die Hard (my review here. I have not seen Shooter yet, and likely will not. I should rent movies now and then instead of buying them, I suppose. It is one of those movies where I’m interested, but just barely. Now you made my revise it to sorta interested. hehe

    btw, Transformers review coming to my site later today.

  4. Acting Tips

    Interesting article, Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

