Growing Up

The verdict is in and after much deliberation it has been proven without a reasonable doubt that I am immature. Now don’t all rush to make your comments yet. I’m sure many of you will be able to confirm this statement with staggering quickness. Loving Superman, reading comics, and playing video games aren’t the smoking guns here. I think I may have a little bit of the Peter Pan syndrome. I run and hide from everyday responsibility like it wants my lunch money. Everyday I am reminded that I am not ready for a kid yet. I guess because I am too selfish. I still want time to play…..everyday. Couple that with a horrible case of procrastination and what do you get? A poor wife who has to remember everything. I’m not really sure why I am posting this other than the fact that I’ve had it on my mind for a while. I know that there are things in life that you just can’t avoid. I just don’t want to become one of those people that all they do from the time they wake up in the morning to the time they go to bed is work and by work I mean work 9-5 and then go home and by the time they make dinner clean up and do things around the house it’s time to go to bed and do it all over again. That’s when you wake up one day and you’re 50 and you are wondering what happen to your 30’s. So where is the balance? Where does everything fit? Maybe some of you 30 somethings can give me some advice on how to ease into responsibility without the kicking and screaming?

8 Responses to “Growing Up”

  1. Responsibility sucks.

    It’s weird you’re thinking about these things lately because so am I. Some people think I waste valuable time doing some of the things I do (blogging being one of them), but those are the things that keep me sane. They’ll hear me say I don’t have time for this or that, but then they’ll see me do a webcast or hear that I went to the movies and think it’s a contradiction. It’s not. You have to build in some time to enjoy life. To enjoy the people around you. To breath.

    On the other hand, if you have no responsibility, you’re a nuisance. As with everything in life you have to find that balance. Figure out your priorities and work from there.

    You’re not doing so bad Mr. Steel.

  2. Thanks my man. I hear ya about keeping sane. I need my “Me” time. I guess my trouble is I want my “Me” time too much, if there is such a thing as too much “Me” time. Priorities have always been a struggle for me. Meaning I want to put too many things at the top. It’s like Fantasy Football/Baseball. You can’t take LT and Payton or Pujols and A-Rod in the same round. Not sure if that makes sense but you know what I mean.

    Thanks for the input my Muddy buddy!

  3. Hey, guess what? I’m 46 and still struggle with the same thing. And my wife is an incredible woman for putting up with me! And I mean that with all sincerity. I am a chronic procrastinator, I love my games (softball, bowling, video games, etc.) and when I come home from work, working at home is the last thing I want to do. But sometimes you have to do what you have to do. Even if you sacrifice “me” time. It’s well worth the sacrifice most of the time anyway. 🙂

  4. I don’t think there is anything wrong with “me” time, in fact I believe it is a necessity. However, when you become selfish…then maybe some reflect time is needed. I am not saying that this is what you are doing Steelman….I have been guilty of this at times. Kids help put everything in perspective, because priorities change. Chris and I talk about pre-kid days and how much fun we used to have. We always come to the same conclusion….how did we ever live with out them?? Maybe you are just not ready to have kids and that’s okay (hopefully Becca feels the same). I see you putting a good chunck of time serving God…so it can’t all be “me” time. Good luck!!

  5. I just barely fit into the 30 something crowd… so I have no perspective to give you other than to find joy in the things you do, whatever they are.

  6. I’m 2 years from the 30 somethings and it’s scaring the crap out of me. But I do have a kid so I think I can comment briefly on what you’re saying because I was scared witless as the day approached when our daughter was to be born. And we even ‘planned’ to have her in the fall! I remember being so selfish and indignant for my birthday that year because, “In a few months it’ll be all about that baby!!” And it is but like mentioned before, it’s all worth it. I find myself doing more now with a kid than I did before! My wife and I have date nights that are more special now, like the days of ‘dating.’ It’s good to have “me” time but boy, “us” time is just as uniquely special and important!
    Our wives could probably share stories of our procrastinations for days! I attribute that to being one of God’s greatest gifts: my wife.

    A wise man once spoke of ‘balance Danielson.’ I never could get that. I’ve always been moving full speed in one direction or another. What I try to do though is bring my wife and family alongside me and we enjoy the ride together! What is fun though is setting rewards for responsibility: buying a new comic when I beat my wife home and clean the house. Getting a new cd off iTunes when blah blah blah…fill in what responsibilities are hard. They become habit and then you won’t need a reward at the end because you might find out that you enjoy it!

  7. I am so blessed to have such wise, helpful, and old friends. Thanks so much for all your help. I will take these things along with me on my journey toward manhood. You guys are awesome!

  8. I was pretty sure I made it obvious that I’m not ‘old.’
    🙂

Leave a Reply

