Music I digg…2008 edition

Since there has been quite a bit of time since my last postings I’ve decided to forgo the best of 2008 series that seems to be all the rage on blogs this time of year. The reason being is a lot that would be mentioned on that list would seem really out of left field since I haven’t really discussed any of them on this blog all year. So this is just a list of great albums that have been on repeat for me.

lifehouseLifehouse -Who We Are
This one probably doesn’t come as a surprise to anyone. This was the most antisapated album of the year for me. I love this CD. Great from cover to cover.

jimmyJimmy Eat World – Chase This Light
Up until about 2 months ago this got my vote for my favorite album of 2008. Still to it’s credit, it still wakes me up every morning! This is probably in my top ten lifetime!

ben

Breaking Benjamin – Phobia
This Album rocked my face off. Something about the lyrics and the thick heavy distortion and the angelic melodies just did it for me. Still rock this one a lot.

fooFoo Fighters – Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace
Not only does this album kill it but it also get’s my vote for best album cover of the year and maybe the last 5 years. This band is so great I pinch myself because I can’t believe one person can be apart of two great bands!

ampAfter Midnight Project – The Becoming
I know this might seem like a broken record but I LOVE THESE GUYS. I know they are my friends and I am a little bias but I’m telling you, these guys are going to be in your face on a global scale in 2009 I can feel it. They have been signed (finally) to Universal and their album should be due out in March or April. I had the extream privilege to hear the new record over Christmas as well as have a beer and some hot wings with the guitar player. I will tell you this much, the rough mixes I heard blow up anything I’ve heard in the last 2 years! More to come on these guys in the up coming months.

snow

Snow Patrol – A Hundred Million Suns
This album shocked me as to how great it was. I didn’t really expect much but I really love this one. It’s for those days where you just want to sit back and relax. Not an everyday cd otherwise you could find yourself depressed, but still works when in the mood for it.

evanblueEvans Blue – The Melody And The Energetic Nature Of Volume
This one is up there with Breaking Ben. Lots of heavy stuff but also very dynamic. Love these guys a lot.

kingsKing of Leon – Only By The Night
If you haven’t heard of these guys by now you will. This is one of those sleeper albums that all of a sudden blows up. I was fortunate to get in on these guys early on and I can tell you this is a great album. Very different but that doesn’t take away from it’s greatness. I’m really surprised no one else has this one on their list.

gentsGentlemen At Arms
I have been so privileged to be surrounded by great musicians most of my life. Especially since I consider myself not a great musician but a musician all the same. My good buddy Blake (who sold me my first distortion pedal way back in the day) has put out probably the best EP I’ve heard in a long long time. Look for these guys to tear it up one day. I still can’t believe how great they are. You can visit their myspace and hear for your self here

davidDavid Cook
What can I say? I hate American Idol. With that said go buy the David Cook album.

hillsong1Hillsong – This is Our God
Dude what can you say, it’s Hillsong? I was listening to this album a lot yesterday. I was having a bit of a discouraging day and this cd really renewed my vision and my calling. None of the Cds listed above could do that. These guys really know how to worship. Don’t believe me? Turn the lights off or close your eyes and put on the song This is Our God.

crimeThe Classic Crime – The Silver Cord
Finally we come to what I have deemed the album of the year. I got a chance to see these guys live with my good buddy and cousin Levi and even thought the singer was obviously very under the weather, they still rocked our face off! Right now this is my favorite album in the last 5 years at least. Please do yourself a favor and check them out.

As a side note I noticed a very common choise on other people’s lists. Coldpaly. I can’t get into it. I must be doing it wrong because everyone seems smittin by these guys. don’t get me wrong I love me some cold play but I can’t get on board with this new album. Help me out kids. Do I need to stand on my head or make some tea or what? Also worth noting are some runners up. I can’t mention everything I’ve dug because this post would be forever long. But Twilight, Juno, The Dark Knight, and Once were all GREAT Soundtracks. Also Weezer- Red, and The Killers – Day and Age, were also worth a nod.

2 Responses to “Music I digg…2008 edition”

  1. WOOHOO!! Dude you scared me because I was like LIFEHOUSE? JIMMY EAT WORLD? How did I miss those? And then I reread your post that these are what have been in heavy rotation this year and not necessarily dropped this year! Great list dude.

    I’m surprised though that Snow Patrol’s on here and not Death Cab? I ate up Narrow Stairs and was told A Million Suns was…eh. I’ll have to check it out. Funny thing, a buddy burned me Kings of Leon and said that I MUST CHECK THIS OUT and sadly, I know not where it is!

    Please go stand on your head, get some fish and chips, whatever and Viva la Vida! I will say, if you weren’t a Coldplay fan before, then you won’t be afterward. I just thought this was a great release and redeemed them from X&Y. I mean, X&Y was good but nothing compared to Parachutes or even Viva. And the extra goodies from Prospekt’s March is yummy!

    GLAD YOU’RE BACK!

  2. I should probably listen to a couple of these. I’m always discovering your good picks a year later.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

